China Spring ISD

Skip to main content
Curriculum and Instruction » STAAR/EOC


STAAR (State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness) and EOC (End of Course)

TEA Website

TEA Testing Calendar

STAAR Assessments:


Beginning in the spring of 2012, all students in grades 3-8 and students enrolled in EOC courses will take be assessed through the STAAR test (State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness).  These STAAR Assessments replace the TAKS assessment system which has been in place since 2003.  STAAR will assess the following subject areas:  


  • Reading: Grades 3-8
  • Writing: Grade 4 and 7
  • Math: Grades 3-8
  • Science: Grades 5 and 8
  • Social Studies: Grade 8
  • English I, II
  • Algebra I
  • Biology
  • U.S. History


Students only take the EOC for the courses in which they are currently enrolled (including correspondence, dual credit, credit by exam, etc.)


Assessment Resources for Students and Parents


2017-18 STAAR/EOC Testing Calendar