China Spring ISD Police Department
There is nothing more important to us than the safety of our students and staff. From weather threats to campus access, we take very seriously the well-being of every person on our campuses. Our first priority will always be the security and accountability of the 3,300 students, staff and visitors we serve. We pledge to inspire those we protect and to serve our community with dedication.
Authority of District Police Officers
All China Spring ISD police personnel are certified Texas Peace officers.
All CSISD police officers have the powers, privileges and immunities of peace officers. They may enforce all laws, including municipal ordinances, county ordinances and state laws and may take a juvenile into custody.
CSISD police officers must meet all minimum standards for peace officers established by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement.
All officers have district-wide jurisdiction, and may be called to any campus or bus at any time 24 hours a day.
Police vehicles are equipped with certified radar units for traffic enforcement.
School Zone Violations
There are special laws regarding the protection and safety of our children in and around school zones. These laws are subject to change without notice by the legislature. This is a short guide to help provide education about a few common offenses that occur in and around schools.
Speeding in a School Zone
A speeding citation in a school zone is typically a much higher fine amount than a speeding citation issued outside of a school zone. Both the fine amounts and court costs are higher when in these zones. You may still be eligible to complete a driver’s safety course or deferred disposition for dismissal of your citation.
Cell Phone Usage
It is illegal to use your cell phone while driving anywhere on school property. The Texas Legislature expanded this law to include parking lots, or any other school property – in addition to school zones. You may; however, use hands-free wireless devices, use a cell phone while your car is in a parked position, or use a cell phone to make an emergency phone call.
Passing a School Bus
The 2013 Legislature Session increased the minimum fine amount for passing a school bus to $500 plus court costs for a first offense. For a second offense, the minimum fine amount has been increased to $1,000 plus court costs. If you are charged with this offense please contact the court for your total amount due (fine + court costs).
Open Carry FAQs
Recent legislative changes effective January 1st, 2016 make it lawful to openly carry firearms in the state of Texas under certain circumstances. The new open carry legislation is currently being reviewed and interpreted by various governmental entities, including but not limited to the Attorney General of Texas. Therefore, the interpretation and release of information concerning the application and effect of these laws with respect to public schools is ongoing.
- Can handguns/firearms be carried openly or concealed into a school building?
- Can handguns/firearms be carried openly or concealed on school grounds and other buildings on school property?
- Can handguns/firearms be carried openly or concealed in school parking lots. driveways, and other parking areas?
- Can handguns/firearms be carried openly or concealed on public sidewalks or walkways surrounding school campuses?
- Can handguns/firearms be carried openly or concealed at school sponsored activities or events?
- Are China Spring ISD campuses required to post signage regarding the prohibition against open carry in school buildings?
- Are China Spring ISD employees allowed to possess and/or carry handguns (openly or concealed) on school district property?
Chief of Police